? Grid intensity view:

Issue 1

Issue 2

Issue 3

Issue 4

Unknown grid intensity


Branch is an online magazine written by and for people who dream of a sustainable and just internet for all.

We believe that the internet must serve our collective liberation and ecological sustainability. We want the internet to dismantle the power structures that delay climate action and for the internet itself to become a sustainable and positive force for climate justice.

We see this magazine as a space for personal reflection, critical engagement with technology and internet economics, as well as experimentation and storytelling. Creating change requires all kinds of practices—art and design, professional development, civic participation, policy and advocacy, imagination and positive visions for our future. This is our small attempt at sharing what inspires and challenges us towards a sustainable and just internet for all.

Future Issues

We are figuring out when to make the next issue.

If you are interested in contributing to future issues, we would love to hear from you. Submit an abstract or proposal. Due to high volume, we may not be able to respond to your submission, although we try!

Support Branch!

Branch is a non-profit magazine. We rely on support from readers and organizations to pay authors and artists and keep the lights on. We want to continue publishing twice a year and enable more analysis and experimentation that others can build upon.

Please consider making a donation today! If you wish, your name will be listed below as a Friend of Branch.

Covers of Branch magazine


  • Managing Editors: Michelle Thorne and Chris Adams
  • Assistant Editor: Carrie Hou
  • Communication: Katrin Fritsch
  • Issue 4 Guest Editors: Babitha George and Shannon Dosemagen
  • Issue 1 Assistant Editor: Laurence Bascle


  • Design: Tom Jarrett
  • Development: Jack Lenox and Hannah Smith
  • Development support: Chris Adams

Cover Illustration


Issue 4:

Babitha George, Shannon Dosemagen, Emilio Velis, Luis Felipe R. Murillo, Evelin Heidel, Michelle Thorne, Alex Stinson, Taeyoon Choi, Geography of Robots, Deepa Bhasthi, Paul Coulton, Tom Macpherson-Pope, Michael Stead, Andres Colmenares, Brisetha Hendricks, Kristophina Shilongo, Sanjana Paul, Fieke Jansen, Evelin Heidel, Emelia Williams, Katie Hoeberling, Shayna Robinson, Maxwell Beganim, Otuo-Akyampong Boakye, Euphemia Uwandu, Thomas Mboa, Ahou Rachel Koumi, Anna Berti Suman, Bogdana Rakova, Siddharth Agarwal, Michelle Cheripka, TC Silva, LF Murillo, Vince Tozzi, Francisco Caminati, Alice Bonafé, Junior Paixão, Mariana Rocha Arduini , Djakson Filho, Layla Xavier, TB Dinesh, Shafali Jain, Sanketh Kumar, Micah Alex, Sruti Modekurty, Maddie Stone, Allie Novak, Eric Fourboul, David Ekchajzer, Anna Knörr, Sarah Kearns, Fershad Irani, Mai Ishikawa Sutton, Nate Hill, Daniela Soleri, Rebecca Newburn, Nate Kleinman, Mary K Johnson, Hayden Kesterson, and Nick P Wrenn.

Issue 3:

Loraine Clarke, Babitha George, Romit Raj, Jon Rogers, Neha Singh, Martin Skelly and Pete Thomas, Yuvraj Jha, Shayna Robinson, Clarissa Redwine, Ifeoma Ozoma, Cathleen Berger, Ian Brooks MBCS, Minna Laurell Thorslund, Aksel Biørn-Hansen, Elena Somova, Climate Disinformation Coalition, CE Delft, Anne Currie, Tom Jarrett, Abhishek Gupta, Luis Cruz, Myriam Douo, Richard Kim, Andres Colmenares, Chris Hartgerink, Indré Blauzdžiūnaitė, and Vineeta Greenwood.

Issue 2:

Gauthier Roussilhe, Superflux, Shayna Robinson, Tega Brain, Alex Nathanson, Benedetta Piantella, Cyrus Clarke, Monika Seyfried, Jeff Nivala, Harriet Kingaby, Camila Nobrega, Joana Varon, Paz Peña, Johanna Pohl, Anja Höfner, Erik Albers, Friederike Rohde, Memo Akten, Primavera De Filippi, Joanie Lemercier, Addie Wagenknecht, Mat Dryhurst, Sutu_eats_flies, Cathleen Berger, Abhishek Gupta, Maike Gossen, Josephin Wagner, Tilman Santarius, Patricia Jankowski, Dennis “Bumpy” Pu‘uhonua Kanahele, Renata Ávila, Guy Weress, Shannon Dosemagen, Emilio Velis, Luis Felipe R. Murillo, Evelin Heidel, Alex Stinson, Klasse Klima, and Christine Larivière.

Issue 1:

Alexandra Deschamps-Sonsino, Bill Johnson, Brett Gaylor, Camila Nobrega, Chenai Chair, Christine Larivière, Eirini Maliaraki, Extinction Rebellion NYC, Fieke Jansen, Gabi Ivens, Janet Gunter, Jesper Hyldahl Fogh, Joana Moll, Kamal Kapadia, Laurent Devernay, Lu Ye, Maddie Stone, Melissa Hsiung, Michael Oghia, Taylor Rowe, Tom Greenwood, and Vandria Borari.


Unless otherwise noted, all texts are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) 4.0 International License.

Friends of Branch

Thank you for your support of this project!

Marco Abis and Deena Rosen.

With organizational support from

The Green Web Foundation, EIT Climate KIC, Mozilla Foundation and Climate Action Tech, and with special thanks to Michelle Zucker, Rocio Armillas-Tiseyra and Ilona Puskás for making the first issue possible!

The Green Web Foundation
Climate KIC